Intel Arc A770 (Reference design), 8 GB
82 desktops in this database carry a verdict for the Intel Arc A770 (Reference design), 8 GB: 48 do not fit (12 of these are estimates) and 34 are unverified. Estimated Of the 48 desktops it does not fit, 32 conflict with a half-height-only slot and 16 with the desktop's largest supply option; the Dell OptiPlex 3060 Small Form Factor (2018) is one of the 32. Estimated Among the 43 cards with 8 GB in this database, its board power of 225 W is within 50–295 W, with 35 lower and 4 higher; its length is not published, while 19 cards in the group publish 163–275 mm. Estimated The largest listed model its 8 GB holds at 32k context is Qwen3 4B (Q4_K_M, needs 7.9 GiB).
Published specifications for this design, the OEM desktops whose own specifications accept it, and how much of a local language model its memory holds.
We have not physically tested this combination. Data is compiled from official specification sheets and cited sources.
“Reference design” is a specification, not a product. The figures below are the ones the chip vendor publishes for a baseline board: board power, auxiliary power connector and recommended system power. Cards sold by board partners are built to their own designs and differ in length, height and cooler. This database does not claim that a card built to this exact design was sold at retail, and where the chip vendor does not publish a dimension, the row below says so.
Specifications
- Graphics processor
- Intel Arc A770
- Card memory
- 8 GB
- Total board power
- 225 W
- Vendor's recommended system power
- 600 W — a figure for the whole system, not for the card alone
- Auxiliary power connector
- 6pin+8pin
- Length
- Not stated by the cited specification
- Height
- Not stated by the cited specification
- Width
- Not stated by the cited specification
- Slot widths occupied
- 2
- Low profile
- No
- CUDA
- No
Another entry in this database carries the same printed name. The two are distinguished here by memory size.
Power. Leave headroom; OEM PSUs are often rated at the limit. The recommended system figure above is the card vendor's own, and it assumes a retail supply rather than an OEM one.
Desktops that take a card of this design
No desktop in this database carries a fitting verdict for this card. It was assessed against 82 of them. Its published figures are inside the range that other cards clear here, so the conflict is with particular machines rather than with every one of them; each desktop's own page says what its specifications record.
This card has been assessed against 82 desktops in this database. Each verdict is a statement about published specifications, not about a tested combination.
- ✓ Fits: 0
- △ Fits with conditions: 0
- ✕ Does not fit: 48 (12 of these are estimates) Estimated
- ? Unverified: 34
✕ Does not fit 48 desktops, grouped by the published limit that conflicts with this card's published figures:
- Slot width (2, 2 published as an estimate).
- Estimated confidence BD (2): HP Z2 G9 SFF Workstation Desktop PC, Z2 Small Form Factor G5 Workstation
- Bracket height (half-height slot) (30, 1 published as an estimate).
- confidence B (29): Dell OptiPlex 3060 Small Form Factor (2018), OptiPlex 3090 Small Form Factor (2021), OptiPlex 5040 Small Form Factor (2015), OptiPlex 5080 Small Form Factor (2020), OptiPlex 7000 Small Form Factor (2022), OptiPlex 7040 Small Form Factor (2015), OptiPlex 7080 Small Form Factor (2020), OptiPlex 7090 Small Form Factor (2021), OptiPlex Small Form Factor 7010 (2023), OptiPlex Small Form Factor Plus 7010 (2023); Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s, ThinkCentre M70s Gen 3, ThinkCentre M70s Gen 4, ThinkCentre M70s Gen 5, ThinkCentre M710 Small Form Factor, ThinkCentre M710 Tower, ThinkCentre M710e SFF, ThinkCentre M720 SFF, ThinkCentre M75s, ThinkCentre M75s Gen 5, ThinkCentre M80s, ThinkCentre M80s Gen 3, ThinkCentre M90s, ThinkCentre M90s Gen 3, ThinkCentre M90s Gen 4, ThinkCentre M90s Gen 5, ThinkCentre M910 Small Form Factor, ThinkCentre M920 Small Form Factor, ThinkCentre neo 50s Gen 4
- Estimated confidence BD (1): HP Z2 Small Form Factor G8 Workstation
- Power-supply wattage (7, 1 published as an estimate).
- confidence B (6): Dell OptiPlex 3050 Small Form Factor (2017), OptiPlex 5050 Small Form Factor (2017), OptiPlex 5060 Small Form Factor (2018), OptiPlex 7050 Small Form Factor (2017), OptiPlex 7060 Small Form Factor (2018), OptiPlex 7070 Small Form Factor (2019)
- Estimated confidence BD (1): Dell OptiPlex 5070 Small Form Factor (2019)
- Auxiliary power connector (9, 8 published as an estimate).
- confidence B (1): Dell OptiPlex Tower 7010 (2023)
- Estimated confidence BD (4): Dell OptiPlex 5050 Tower (2017), OptiPlex 5070 Tower (2019), OptiPlex 7060 Tower (2018), OptiPlex 7070 Tower (2019)
- Estimated confidence BE (4): Dell OptiPlex 3050 Tower (2017), OptiPlex 3060 Tower (2018), OptiPlex 5060 Tower (2018), OptiPlex 7050 Tower (2017)
? Unverified 34 desktops. The evidence does not settle these either way, which is not the same as them being ruled out.
Verify with the manufacturer before purchasing.
| Verdict | Meaning |
|---|---|
| ✓ Fits | Published specifications show no physical or electrical conflict. |
| △ Fits with conditions | Published specifications allow it only under the stated conditions. |
| ✕ Does not fit | Published specifications rule the combination out: the card needs a connector the machine does not have, draws more than the supply provides, or is physically too large. It is a statement about specifications, not a report of a failed attempt. |
| ? Unverified | There is not enough evidence to say. |
Local language models this card's memory holds
Arithmetic shared by the models below. Sentences that read the same for more than one model are stated once here; each row names the ones it carries by number.
- This outcome is no stronger than the figures it was calculated from: the size of the model file that is distributed is recorded here from third-party or community material, so grade D is shown alongside B.
| Model | Outcome | Needs at 32k context | The arithmetic | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qwen3 4B | ✓ Fits in VRAM | 7.9 GiB | 8 GB of memory is at least the 7.9 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. | B |
| Qwen3 1.7B | ✓ Fits in VRAM Estimated | 5.6 GiB | 8 GB of memory is at least the 5.6 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. [1] | BD |
| Qwen3 0.6B | ✓ Fits in VRAM Estimated | 4.9 GiB | 8 GB of memory is at least the 4.9 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. [1] | BD |
| Gemma 3 4B | ✓ Fits in VRAM | 4.7 GiB | 8 GB of memory is at least the 4.7 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. | B |
| Qwen3 8B | △ Fits at short context only | 10.2 GiB | 8 GB of memory covers the 6.3 GB required at a context length of 4,096 tokens, but not the 10.2 GB required at 32,768 tokens. | B |
| Llama 3.1 8B | △ Fits at short context only Estimated | 9.6 GiB | 8 GB of memory covers the 6.1 GB required at a context length of 4,096 tokens, but not the 9.6 GB required at 32,768 tokens. This outcome is no stronger than the figures it was calculated from: the size of the model file that is distributed and this model's layer count and this model's key/value head count and this model's head dimension are recorded here from third-party or community material, so grade D is shown alongside B. | BD |
✕ Exceeds VRAM 12 models need more memory at 32k context than this card has, 5 of them published as an estimate. The arithmetic for each is on the model's own page.
- confidence B (7): Gemma 3 12B 10.9 GiB, Qwen3 14B 14.4 GiB, GPT-OSS 20B 14.6 GiB, Gemma 3 27B 20.0 GiB, EXAONE 4.0 32B 21.8 GiB, Qwen3 32B 27.5 GiB, GPT-OSS 120B 62.9 GiB
- Estimated confidence BD (5): Phi-4 14B 15.6 GiB, Mistral Small 3.2 24B Instruct 19.4 GiB, Qwen3 30B-A3B Instruct 2507 21.3 GiB, Llama 3.1 70B 50.7 GiB, GLM-4.5-Air 74.8 GiB
Other cards with 8 GB of memory
Cards whose published memory size is the same, so the local-model outcomes on this page apply to them as well. Whether a given desktop accepts them is a separate question, answered on each card's own page.
- AMD Radeon R9 390 (Reference design)275 W board power
- AMD Radeon RX 480 (Reference design)150 W board power
- AMD Radeon RX 5500 XT (Reference design), 8 GB130 W board power
- AMD Radeon RX 5700 (Reference design)180 W board power
- AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT (Reference design)225 W board power
- AMD Radeon RX 580 (Reference design)185 W board power
Sources
| Document | Publisher | Kind | Read on |
|---|---|---|---|
| Intel Arc A770 specifications (official) | Intel | Manufacturer official documentation | 2026-09-19 |
| How to Connect Power to an Intel Arc Alchemist Graphics Limited Edition Card — Intel | Intel | primary | 2026-09-19 |