GeForce GTX 1660 (Reference design)
82 desktops in this database carry a verdict for the GeForce GTX 1660 (Reference design): 19 fit with conditions, 40 do not fit (12 of these are estimates) and 23 are unverified. Estimated Conditions most often concern card length (19 desktops), card width (19) and the auxiliary power connector (19); for this card, its length is not published. Of the 40 desktops it does not fit, 31 conflict with a half-height-only slot and 12 with the auxiliary power connector on record; the Dell OptiPlex 3090 Small Form Factor (2021) is one of the 31. Estimated Among the 13 cards with 6 GB in this database, its board power of 120 W is within 70–250 W, with 4 lower and 6 higher; its length is not published, while 5 cards in the group publish 168–267 mm. Estimated The largest listed model its 6 GB holds at 32k context is Qwen3 1.7B (Q4_K_M, needs 5.6 GiB). Estimated
Published specifications for this design, the OEM desktops whose own specifications accept it, and how much of a local language model its memory holds.
We have not physically tested this combination. Data is compiled from official specification sheets and cited sources.
“Reference design” is a specification, not a product. The figures below are the ones the chip vendor publishes for a baseline board: board power, auxiliary power connector and recommended system power. Cards sold by board partners are built to their own designs and differ in length, height and cooler. This database does not claim that a card built to this exact design was sold at retail, and where the chip vendor does not publish a dimension, the row below says so.
Specifications
- Graphics processor
- GeForce GTX 1660
- Card memory
- 6 GB
- Total board power
- 120 W
- Vendor's recommended system power
- 450 W — a figure for the whole system, not for the card alone
- Auxiliary power connector
- 8pin
- Length
- Not stated by the cited specification
- Height
- Not stated by the cited specification
- Width
- Not stated by the cited specification
- Slot widths occupied
- 2
- Low profile
- No
- CUDA
- Yes
Power. Leave headroom; OEM PSUs are often rated at the limit. The recommended system figure above is the card vendor's own, and it assumes a retail supply rather than an OEM one.
Desktops that take a card of this design
This card has been assessed against 82 desktops in this database. Each verdict is a statement about published specifications, not about a tested combination.
- ✓ Fits: 0
- △ Fits with conditions: 19
- ✕ Does not fit: 40 (12 of these are estimates) Estimated
- ? Unverified: 23
Conditions shared by the desktops below. Each is stated once here. They come from this card's own records, or are worded the same for more than one desktop. A desktop listed below names the ones it carries by number; the figures particular to that desktop are on its own page.
- Card length: the length of this card is not published. Check it on the specification of the card you intend to buy.
- Card length: where a desktop publishes no maximum, measure the clearance in front of the slot and compare it with the card.
- Card width: this card occupies 2 slots.
- Card width: where a desktop publishes no slot-width ceiling, check that there is room beside the x16 slot.
- Card width: where a row says a desktop's slot-width figure is recorded from third-party or community material, or from material whose source the record does not identify, rather than from a ceiling the manufacturer publishes, check that there is room beside the x16 slot.
- Card width: where a desktop's maker offers a card at least as thick as this one as a factory option, that settles this card's width. It is a floor rather than a published ceiling, and says nothing about a thicker card.
- Bracket height: where a row says whether a desktop takes only half-height cards is recorded from third-party or community material, or from material whose source the record does not identify, rather than from a statement by the manufacturer, check the slot opening.
- Power: this card's vendor recommends a 450 W system supply. Power: a card vendor's recommended system supply covers the whole machine and carries the vendor's own margin, so judge it against the configuration you own.
- Power: where a row says a desktop's supply rating is recorded from third-party or community material, or from material whose source the record does not identify, rather than from a specification the manufacturer publishes, read the rating off the label on the supply in the machine you own.
- Auxiliary power connector: where a row says what a desktop's supply offers is recorded from third-party or community material, or from material whose source the record does not identify, rather than from a specification the manufacturer publishes, open the machine and look at the cable before buying.
- Auxiliary power connector: this card needs an 8-pin connector. Auxiliary power connector: where a desktop's manufacturer does not publish what the supply offers, open the machine and look at the cable before buying.
△ Fits with conditions 19 desktops:
- confidence B (19): Dell OptiPlex 7000 Tower (2022) [1] [2] [3] [4] [10], OptiPlex 7080 Tower (2020) [1] [2] [3] [4] [10], OptiPlex 7090 Tower (2021) [1] [2] [3] [4] [10], OptiPlex Tower Plus 7010 (2023) [1] [2] [3] [4] [10], Precision 3630 Tower [1] [2] [3] [4] [10], Precision 3680 Tower [1] [2] [3] [4] [10]; HP Elite Tower 600 G9 [1] [2] [3] [5] [6] [8] [11], Pro Tower 400 G9 [1] [2] [3] [5] [6] [8] [11], Z2 Tower G5 Workstation [1] [2] [3] [5] [6] [7] [9] [10], Z2 Tower G8 Workstation [1] [2] [3] [5] [6] [7] [9] [10], Z2 Tower G9 Workstation [1] [2] [3] [4] [11]; Lenovo ThinkCentre M70t Gen 4 [1] [3] [4] [8] [11], ThinkCentre M70t Gen 5 [1] [3] [4] [8] [11], ThinkCentre M80t Gen 3 [1] [3] [5] [6] [8] [11], ThinkCentre M90t [1] [3] [5] [6] [11], ThinkCentre M90t Gen 3 [1] [3] [5] [6] [11], ThinkCentre M90t Gen 4 [1] [3] [5] [6] [11], ThinkCentre M90t Gen 5 [1] [3] [5] [6] [11], ThinkCentre M910 Tower [1] [3] [5] [6] [8] [11]
✕ Does not fit 40 desktops, grouped by the published limit that conflicts with this card's published figures:
- Slot width (2, 2 published as an estimate).
- Estimated confidence BD (2): HP Z2 G9 SFF Workstation Desktop PC, Z2 Small Form Factor G5 Workstation
- Bracket height (half-height slot) (29, 1 published as an estimate).
- confidence B (28): Dell OptiPlex 3090 Small Form Factor (2021), OptiPlex 5040 Small Form Factor (2015), OptiPlex 5080 Small Form Factor (2020), OptiPlex 7000 Small Form Factor (2022), OptiPlex 7040 Small Form Factor (2015), OptiPlex 7080 Small Form Factor (2020), OptiPlex 7090 Small Form Factor (2021), OptiPlex Small Form Factor 7010 (2023), OptiPlex Small Form Factor Plus 7010 (2023); Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s, ThinkCentre M70s Gen 3, ThinkCentre M70s Gen 4, ThinkCentre M70s Gen 5, ThinkCentre M710 Small Form Factor, ThinkCentre M710 Tower, ThinkCentre M710e SFF, ThinkCentre M720 SFF, ThinkCentre M75s, ThinkCentre M75s Gen 5, ThinkCentre M80s, ThinkCentre M80s Gen 3, ThinkCentre M90s, ThinkCentre M90s Gen 3, ThinkCentre M90s Gen 4, ThinkCentre M90s Gen 5, ThinkCentre M910 Small Form Factor, ThinkCentre M920 Small Form Factor, ThinkCentre neo 50s Gen 4
- Estimated confidence BD (1): HP Z2 Small Form Factor G8 Workstation
- Auxiliary power connector (9, 9 published as an estimate).
- Estimated confidence BD (5): Dell OptiPlex 5050 Tower (2017), OptiPlex 5070 Tower (2019), OptiPlex 7060 Tower (2018), OptiPlex 7070 Tower (2019), OptiPlex Tower 7010 (2023)
- Estimated confidence BE (4): Dell OptiPlex 3050 Tower (2017), OptiPlex 3060 Tower (2018), OptiPlex 5060 Tower (2018), OptiPlex 7050 Tower (2017)
? Unverified 23 desktops. The evidence does not settle these either way, which is not the same as them being ruled out.
Verify with the manufacturer before purchasing.
| Verdict | Meaning |
|---|---|
| ✓ Fits | Published specifications show no physical or electrical conflict. |
| △ Fits with conditions | Published specifications allow it only under the stated conditions. |
| ✕ Does not fit | Published specifications rule the combination out: the card needs a connector the machine does not have, draws more than the supply provides, or is physically too large. It is a statement about specifications, not a report of a failed attempt. |
| ? Unverified | There is not enough evidence to say. |
Local language models this card's memory holds
Arithmetic shared by the models below. Sentences that read the same for more than one model are stated once here; each row names the ones it carries by number.
- This outcome is no stronger than the figures it was calculated from: this card's memory size and the size of the model file that is distributed are recorded here from third-party or community material, so grade D is shown alongside B.
- This outcome is no stronger than the figures it was calculated from: this card's memory size is recorded here from third-party or community material, so grade D is shown alongside B.
| Model | Outcome | Needs at 32k context | The arithmetic | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qwen3 1.7B | ✓ Fits in VRAM Estimated | 5.6 GiB | 6 GB of memory is at least the 5.6 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. [1] | BD |
| Qwen3 0.6B | ✓ Fits in VRAM Estimated | 4.9 GiB | 6 GB of memory is at least the 4.9 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. [1] | BD |
| Gemma 3 4B | ✓ Fits in VRAM Estimated | 4.7 GiB | 6 GB of memory is at least the 4.7 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. [2] | BD |
| Qwen3 4B | △ Fits at short context only Estimated | 7.9 GiB | 6 GB of memory covers the 3.9 GB required at a context length of 4,096 tokens, but not the 7.9 GB required at 32,768 tokens. [2] | BD |
✕ Exceeds VRAM 14 models need more memory at 32k context than this card has, 14 of them published as an estimate. The arithmetic for each is on the model's own page.
- Estimated confidence BD (14): Llama 3.1 8B 9.6 GiB, Qwen3 8B 10.2 GiB, Gemma 3 12B 10.9 GiB, Qwen3 14B 14.4 GiB, GPT-OSS 20B 14.6 GiB, Phi-4 14B 15.6 GiB, Mistral Small 3.2 24B Instruct 19.4 GiB, Gemma 3 27B 20.0 GiB, Qwen3 30B-A3B Instruct 2507 21.3 GiB, EXAONE 4.0 32B 21.8 GiB, Qwen3 32B 27.5 GiB, Llama 3.1 70B 50.7 GiB, GPT-OSS 120B 62.9 GiB, GLM-4.5-Air 74.8 GiB
Other cards with 6 GB of memory
Cards whose published memory size is the same, so the local-model outcomes on this page apply to them as well. Whether a given desktop accepts them is a separate question, answered on each card's own page.
- AMD Radeon RX 5600 XT (Reference design)150 W board power
- GeForce GTX 1060 (Reference design)120 W board power
- GeForce GTX 1660 SUPER (Reference design)125 W board power
- GeForce GTX 1660 Ti (Reference design)120 W board power
- GeForce GTX 980 Ti (Reference design)250 W board power
- GeForce GTX TITAN (Reference design)250 W board power
Sources
| Document | Publisher | Kind | Read on |
|---|---|---|---|
| GeForce GTX 1650 specifications (official) | NVIDIA | Manufacturer official documentation | 2026-09-19 |
| NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Specs — Graphics Cards Database | graphicscardsdatabase.com | supporting | 2026-08-01 |
| NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 — CpuTronic | cputronic.com | supporting | 2026-08-01 |