GeForce GTX 660 (Reference design)
82 desktops in this database carry a verdict for the GeForce GTX 660 (Reference design): 19 fit with conditions, 46 do not fit (9 of these are estimates) and 17 are unverified. Estimated Conditions most often concern card width (19 desktops), the auxiliary power connector (14) and card length (13). Of the 46 desktops it does not fit, 31 conflict with a half-height-only slot and 27 with the desktop's maximum card length; the Dell OptiPlex 3090 Small Form Factor (2021) is one of the 31. Estimated Among the 28 cards with 2 GB in this database, its board power of 140 W is within 19–230 W, with 19 lower and 8 higher; its length of 241 mm compares with 145–267 mm where published. Estimated No listed model fits in its 2 GB at 32k context; the smallest, Gemma 3 4B, needs 4.7 GiB.
Published specifications for this design, the OEM desktops whose own specifications accept it, and how much of a local language model its memory holds.
We have not physically tested this combination. Data is compiled from official specification sheets and cited sources.
“Reference design” is a specification, not a product. The figures below are the ones the chip vendor publishes for a baseline board: board power, auxiliary power connector and recommended system power. Cards sold by board partners are built to their own designs and differ in length, height and cooler. This database does not claim that a card built to this exact design was sold at retail, and where the chip vendor does not publish a dimension, the row below says so.
Specifications
- Graphics processor
- GeForce GTX 660
- Card memory
- 2 GB
- Total board power
- 140 W
- Vendor's recommended system power
- 450 W — a figure for the whole system, not for the card alone
- Auxiliary power connector
- 6pin
- Length
- 241 mm
- Height
- Not stated by the cited specification
- Width
- Not stated by the cited specification
- Slot widths occupied
- 2
- Low profile
- No
- CUDA
- Yes
Power. Leave headroom; OEM PSUs are often rated at the limit. The recommended system figure above is the card vendor's own, and it assumes a retail supply rather than an OEM one.
Desktops that take a card of this design
This card has been assessed against 82 desktops in this database. Each verdict is a statement about published specifications, not about a tested combination.
- ✓ Fits: 0
- △ Fits with conditions: 19
- ✕ Does not fit: 46 (9 of these are estimates) Estimated
- ? Unverified: 17
Conditions shared by the desktops below. Each is stated once here. They come from this card's own records, or are worded the same for more than one desktop. A desktop listed below names the ones it carries by number; the figures particular to that desktop are on its own page.
- Card length: this card is 241 mm long. Card length: where a desktop publishes no maximum, measure the clearance in front of the slot and compare it with the card.
- Card width: this card occupies 2 slots.
- Card width: where a desktop publishes no slot-width ceiling, check that there is room beside the x16 slot.
- Card width: where a desktop's maker offers a card at least as thick as this one as a factory option, that settles this card's width. It is a floor rather than a published ceiling, and says nothing about a thicker card.
- Card width: where a row says a desktop's slot-width figure is recorded from third-party or community material, or from material whose source the record does not identify, rather than from a ceiling the manufacturer publishes, check that there is room beside the x16 slot.
- Bracket height: where a row says whether a desktop takes only half-height cards is recorded from third-party or community material, or from material whose source the record does not identify, rather than from a statement by the manufacturer, check the slot opening.
- Power: this card's vendor recommends a 450 W system supply. Power: a card vendor's recommended system supply covers the whole machine and carries the vendor's own margin, so judge it against the configuration you own.
- Power: where a row says a desktop's supply rating is recorded from third-party or community material, or from material whose source the record does not identify, rather than from a specification the manufacturer publishes, read the rating off the label on the supply in the machine you own.
- Auxiliary power connector: where a row says what a desktop's supply offers is recorded from third-party or community material, or from material whose source the record does not identify, rather than from a specification the manufacturer publishes, open the machine and look at the cable before buying.
- Auxiliary power connector: this card needs a 6-pin connector. Auxiliary power connector: where a desktop's manufacturer does not publish what the supply offers, open the machine and look at the cable before buying.
△ Fits with conditions 19 desktops:
- confidence B (19): Dell OptiPlex 7000 Tower (2022) [1] [2] [3], OptiPlex 7060 Tower (2018) [1] [2] [3] [7] [9], OptiPlex 7070 Tower (2019) [1] [2] [3] [7] [9], OptiPlex 7080 Tower (2020) [1] [2] [3] [9], OptiPlex 7090 Tower (2021) [1] [2] [3], OptiPlex Tower Plus 7010 (2023) [1] [2] [3], Precision 3630 Tower [1] [2] [3], Precision 3680 Tower [1] [2] [3]; HP Elite Tower 600 G9 [1] [2] [4] [7] [10], Pro Tower 400 G9 [1] [2] [4] [7] [10], Z2 Tower G5 Workstation [1] [2] [4] [6] [8] [9], Z2 Tower G8 Workstation [1] [2] [4] [5] [6] [8] [9], Z2 Tower G9 Workstation [1] [2] [3] [10]; Lenovo ThinkCentre M90t [2] [4] [10], ThinkCentre M90t Gen 3 [2] [4] [10], ThinkCentre M90t Gen 4 [2] [4] [10], ThinkCentre M90t Gen 5 [2] [4] [10], ThinkCentre M910 Tower [2] [4] [5] [7] [10], ThinkCentre M920 Tower [2] [4] [5] [7] [10]
✕ Does not fit 46 desktops, grouped by the published limit that conflicts with this card's published figures:
- Card length (27).
- confidence B (27): HP Elite Tower 800 G9; Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s, ThinkCentre M70s Gen 3, ThinkCentre M70s Gen 4, ThinkCentre M70s Gen 5, ThinkCentre M70t, ThinkCentre M70t Gen 4, ThinkCentre M70t Gen 5, ThinkCentre M710 Small Form Factor, ThinkCentre M710 Tower, ThinkCentre M710e SFF, ThinkCentre M720 SFF, ThinkCentre M720 Tower, ThinkCentre M75s, ThinkCentre M75s Gen 5, ThinkCentre M75t Gen 5, ThinkCentre M80s, ThinkCentre M80s Gen 3, ThinkCentre M80t, ThinkCentre M80t Gen 3, ThinkCentre M90s, ThinkCentre M90s Gen 3, ThinkCentre M90s Gen 4, ThinkCentre M90s Gen 5, ThinkCentre M910 Small Form Factor, ThinkCentre M920 Small Form Factor, ThinkCentre neo 50s Gen 4
- Slot width (2, 2 published as an estimate).
- Estimated confidence BD (2): HP Z2 G9 SFF Workstation Desktop PC, Z2 Small Form Factor G5 Workstation
- Bracket height (half-height slot) (10, 1 published as an estimate).
- confidence B (9): Dell OptiPlex 3090 Small Form Factor (2021), OptiPlex 5040 Small Form Factor (2015), OptiPlex 5080 Small Form Factor (2020), OptiPlex 7000 Small Form Factor (2022), OptiPlex 7040 Small Form Factor (2015), OptiPlex 7080 Small Form Factor (2020), OptiPlex 7090 Small Form Factor (2021), OptiPlex Small Form Factor 7010 (2023), OptiPlex Small Form Factor Plus 7010 (2023)
- Estimated confidence BD (1): HP Z2 Small Form Factor G8 Workstation
- Auxiliary power connector (7, 6 published as an estimate).
- confidence B (1): Dell OptiPlex Tower 7010 (2023)
- Estimated confidence BD (2): Dell OptiPlex 5050 Tower (2017), OptiPlex 5070 Tower (2019)
- Estimated confidence BE (4): Dell OptiPlex 3050 Tower (2017), OptiPlex 3060 Tower (2018), OptiPlex 5060 Tower (2018), OptiPlex 7050 Tower (2017)
? Unverified 17 desktops. The evidence does not settle these either way, which is not the same as them being ruled out.
Verify with the manufacturer before purchasing.
| Verdict | Meaning |
|---|---|
| ✓ Fits | Published specifications show no physical or electrical conflict. |
| △ Fits with conditions | Published specifications allow it only under the stated conditions. |
| ✕ Does not fit | Published specifications rule the combination out: the card needs a connector the machine does not have, draws more than the supply provides, or is physically too large. It is a statement about specifications, not a report of a failed attempt. |
| ? Unverified | There is not enough evidence to say. |
Local language models this card's memory holds
| Model | Outcome | Needs at 32k context | The arithmetic | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qwen3 0.6B | △ Fits at short context only Estimated | 4.9 GiB | 2 GB of memory covers the 1.9 GB required at a context length of 4,096 tokens, but not the 4.9 GB required at 32,768 tokens. This outcome is no stronger than the figures it was calculated from: the size of the model file that is distributed is recorded here from third-party or community material, so grade D is shown alongside B. | BD |
✕ Exceeds VRAM 17 models need more memory at 32k context than this card has, 7 of them published as an estimate. The arithmetic for each is on the model's own page.
- confidence B (10): Gemma 3 4B 4.7 GiB, Qwen3 4B 7.9 GiB, Qwen3 8B 10.2 GiB, Gemma 3 12B 10.9 GiB, Qwen3 14B 14.4 GiB, GPT-OSS 20B 14.6 GiB, Gemma 3 27B 20.0 GiB, EXAONE 4.0 32B 21.8 GiB, Qwen3 32B 27.5 GiB, GPT-OSS 120B 62.9 GiB
- Estimated confidence BD (7): Qwen3 1.7B 5.6 GiB, Llama 3.1 8B 9.6 GiB, Phi-4 14B 15.6 GiB, Mistral Small 3.2 24B Instruct 19.4 GiB, Qwen3 30B-A3B Instruct 2507 21.3 GiB, Llama 3.1 70B 50.7 GiB, GLM-4.5-Air 74.8 GiB
Other cards with 2 GB of memory
Cards whose published memory size is the same, so the local-model outcomes on this page apply to them as well. Whether a given desktop accepts them is a separate question, answered on each card's own page.
- AMD Radeon R7 240 (Reference design)50 W board power
- AMD Radeon R7 250 (Reference design)75 W board power
- AMD Radeon R7 260X (Reference design)115 W board power
- AMD Radeon R9 270 (Reference design)150 W board power
- AMD Radeon R9 270X (Reference design)180 W board power
- AMD Radeon R9 380 (Reference design)190 W board power
Sources
| Document | Publisher | Kind | Read on |
|---|---|---|---|
| GeForce GTX 660 specifications (official) | NVIDIA | Manufacturer official documentation | 2026-09-19 |
| GeForce GTX 660 Specifications — Technical.city | technical.city | supporting | 2026-09-19 |
| NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 — CpuTronic | cputronic.com | supporting | 2026-09-19 |