AMD Radeon R9 280X (Reference design)
82 desktops in this database carry a verdict for the AMD Radeon R9 280X (Reference design): 64 do not fit (all estimates) and 18 are unverified. Estimated Of the 64 desktops it does not fit, 33 conflict with the desktop's maximum card length and 32 with a half-height-only slot; the HP Elite Tower 800 G9 is one of the 33. Estimated Among the 4 cards with 3 GB in this database, its board power of 250 W is the lowest of the group (250–250 W); its length of 275 mm compares with 267–275 mm where published. Estimated No listed model fits in its 3 GB at 32k context; the smallest, Gemma 3 4B, needs 4.7 GiB. Estimated
Published specifications for this design, the OEM desktops whose own specifications accept it, and how much of a local language model its memory holds.
We have not physically tested this combination. Data is compiled from official specification sheets and cited sources.
“Reference design” is a specification, not a product. The figures below are the ones the chip vendor publishes for a baseline board: board power, auxiliary power connector and recommended system power. Cards sold by board partners are built to their own designs and differ in length, height and cooler. This database does not claim that a card built to this exact design was sold at retail, and where the chip vendor does not publish a dimension, the row below says so.
Specifications
- Graphics processor
- AMD Radeon R9 280X
- Card memory
- 3 GB
- Total board power
- 250 W
- Vendor's recommended system power
- 600 W — a figure for the whole system, not for the card alone
- Auxiliary power connector
- 6pin+8pin
- Length
- 275 mm
- Height
- Not stated by the cited specification
- Width
- Not stated by the cited specification
- Slot widths occupied
- 2
- Low profile
- No
- CUDA
- No
Power. Leave headroom; OEM PSUs are often rated at the limit. The recommended system figure above is the card vendor's own, and it assumes a retail supply rather than an OEM one.
Desktops that take a card of this design
No desktop in this database carries a fitting verdict for this card. It was assessed against 82 of them. Its published length is 275 mm. The longest card any desktop here publishes a clearance for is 268 mm.
This card has been assessed against 82 desktops in this database. Each verdict is a statement about published specifications, not about a tested combination.
- ✓ Fits: 0
- △ Fits with conditions: 0
- ✕ Does not fit: 64 (all estimates) Estimated
- ? Unverified: 18
✕ Does not fit 64 desktops, grouped by the published limit that conflicts with this card's published figures:
- Card length (33, 33 published as an estimate).
- Estimated confidence BD (14): HP Elite Tower 800 G9; Lenovo ThinkCentre M70t, ThinkCentre M70t Gen 4, ThinkCentre M70t Gen 5, ThinkCentre M720 Tower, ThinkCentre M75t Gen 5, ThinkCentre M80t, ThinkCentre M80t Gen 3, ThinkCentre M90t, ThinkCentre M90t Gen 3, ThinkCentre M90t Gen 4, ThinkCentre M90t Gen 5, ThinkCentre M910 Tower, ThinkCentre M920 Tower
- Estimated confidence BDE (19): Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s, ThinkCentre M70s Gen 3, ThinkCentre M70s Gen 4, ThinkCentre M70s Gen 5, ThinkCentre M710 Small Form Factor, ThinkCentre M710 Tower, ThinkCentre M710e SFF, ThinkCentre M720 SFF, ThinkCentre M75s, ThinkCentre M75s Gen 5, ThinkCentre M80s, ThinkCentre M80s Gen 3, ThinkCentre M90s, ThinkCentre M90s Gen 3, ThinkCentre M90s Gen 4, ThinkCentre M90s Gen 5, ThinkCentre M910 Small Form Factor, ThinkCentre M920 Small Form Factor, ThinkCentre neo 50s Gen 4
- Slot width (2, 2 published as an estimate).
- Estimated confidence BDE (2): HP Z2 G9 SFF Workstation Desktop PC, Z2 Small Form Factor G5 Workstation
- Bracket height (half-height slot) (11, 11 published as an estimate).
- Estimated confidence BE (11): Dell OptiPlex 3060 Small Form Factor (2018), OptiPlex 3090 Small Form Factor (2021), OptiPlex 5040 Small Form Factor (2015), OptiPlex 5080 Small Form Factor (2020), OptiPlex 7000 Small Form Factor (2022), OptiPlex 7040 Small Form Factor (2015), OptiPlex 7080 Small Form Factor (2020), OptiPlex 7090 Small Form Factor (2021), OptiPlex Small Form Factor 7010 (2023), OptiPlex Small Form Factor Plus 7010 (2023); HP Z2 Small Form Factor G8 Workstation
- Power-supply wattage (12, 12 published as an estimate).
- Estimated confidence BDE (1): Dell OptiPlex 5050 Tower (2017)
- Estimated confidence BE (11): Dell OptiPlex 3050 Small Form Factor (2017), OptiPlex 3050 Tower (2017), OptiPlex 5040 Mini Tower (2015), OptiPlex 5050 Small Form Factor (2017), OptiPlex 5060 Small Form Factor (2018), OptiPlex 5070 Small Form Factor (2019), OptiPlex 7040 Mini Tower (2015), OptiPlex 7050 Small Form Factor (2017), OptiPlex 7050 Tower (2017), OptiPlex 7060 Small Form Factor (2018), OptiPlex 7070 Small Form Factor (2019)
- Auxiliary power connector (6, 6 published as an estimate).
- Estimated confidence BD (4): Dell OptiPlex 5070 Tower (2019), OptiPlex 7060 Tower (2018), OptiPlex 7070 Tower (2019), OptiPlex Tower 7010 (2023)
- Estimated confidence BE (2): Dell OptiPlex 3060 Tower (2018), OptiPlex 5060 Tower (2018)
? Unverified 18 desktops. The evidence does not settle these either way, which is not the same as them being ruled out.
Verify with the manufacturer before purchasing.
| Verdict | Meaning |
|---|---|
| ✓ Fits | Published specifications show no physical or electrical conflict. |
| △ Fits with conditions | Published specifications allow it only under the stated conditions. |
| ✕ Does not fit | Published specifications rule the combination out: the card needs a connector the machine does not have, draws more than the supply provides, or is physically too large. It is a statement about specifications, not a report of a failed attempt. |
| ? Unverified | There is not enough evidence to say. |
Local language models this card's memory holds
Arithmetic shared by the models below. Sentences that read the same for more than one model are stated once here; each row names the ones it carries by number.
- This outcome is no stronger than the figures it was calculated from: this card's memory size and the size of the model file that is distributed are recorded here from third-party or community material, so grade D is shown alongside B.
| Model | Outcome | Needs at 32k context | The arithmetic | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qwen3 1.7B | △ Fits at short context only Estimated | 5.6 GiB | 3 GB of memory covers the 2.5 GB required at a context length of 4,096 tokens, but not the 5.6 GB required at 32,768 tokens. [1] | BD |
| Qwen3 0.6B | △ Fits at short context only Estimated | 4.9 GiB | 3 GB of memory covers the 1.9 GB required at a context length of 4,096 tokens, but not the 4.9 GB required at 32,768 tokens. [1] | BD |
✕ Exceeds VRAM 16 models need more memory at 32k context than this card has, 16 of them published as an estimate. The arithmetic for each is on the model's own page.
- Estimated confidence BD (16): Gemma 3 4B 4.7 GiB, Qwen3 4B 7.9 GiB, Llama 3.1 8B 9.6 GiB, Qwen3 8B 10.2 GiB, Gemma 3 12B 10.9 GiB, Qwen3 14B 14.4 GiB, GPT-OSS 20B 14.6 GiB, Phi-4 14B 15.6 GiB, Mistral Small 3.2 24B Instruct 19.4 GiB, Gemma 3 27B 20.0 GiB, Qwen3 30B-A3B Instruct 2507 21.3 GiB, EXAONE 4.0 32B 21.8 GiB, Qwen3 32B 27.5 GiB, Llama 3.1 70B 50.7 GiB, GPT-OSS 120B 62.9 GiB, GLM-4.5-Air 74.8 GiB
Other cards with 3 GB of memory
Cards whose published memory size is the same, so the local-model outcomes on this page apply to them as well. Whether a given desktop accepts them is a separate question, answered on each card's own page.
- AMD Radeon R9 280 (Reference design)250 W board power
- GeForce GTX 780 (Reference design)250 W board power
- GeForce GTX 780 Ti (Reference design)250 W board power
Sources
| Document | Publisher | Kind | Read on |
|---|---|---|---|
| AMD Radeon R9 280X specifications (supporting source) | cputronic.com | near-primary | 2026-09-19 |
| AMD Radeon R9 280X Specs — Graphics Cards Database | graphicscardsdatabase.com | supporting | 2026-09-19 |