VRAM TableGPU fit and local-LLM VRAM for OEM desktops, from published specifications Search by model

NVIDIA RTX A400

NVIDIA (specification common to board partners) · 4 GB · catalogue identifier rtx-a400 · last updated 2026-09-25

82 desktops in this database carry a verdict for the NVIDIA RTX A400: 6 fit, 59 fit with conditions (6 of these are estimates) and 17 do not fit. Estimated Conditions most often concern card width (58 desktops), card length (49) and bracket height (13). Estimated Of the 17 desktops it does not fit, all 17 conflict with the desktop's maximum card length; the Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s is one of the 17. Among the 27 cards with 4 GB in this database, its board power of 50 W is within 40–290 W, with 3 lower and 21 higher; its length of 163 mm compares with 145–275 mm where published. Estimated No listed model fits in its 4 GB at 32k context; the smallest, Gemma 3 4B, needs 4.7 GiB.

Published specifications for this card, the OEM desktops whose own specifications accept it, and how much of a local language model its memory holds.

We have not physically tested this combination. Data is compiled from official specification sheets and cited sources.

Specifications

Graphics processor
NVIDIA RTX A400
Board
NVIDIA RTX A400 (NVIDIA (specification common to board partners))
Card memory
4 GB · A read 2026-07-18 [S1]
Total board power
50 W · A read 2026-07-18 [S1]
Vendor's recommended system power
Not stated by the cited specification
Auxiliary power connector
Not required · A read 2026-07-18 [S1]
Length
163 mm · A read 2026-07-18 [S1]
Height
69 mm
Width
Not stated by the cited specification
Slot widths occupied
1 · A read 2026-07-18 [S1]
Low profile
Yes · A read 2026-07-18 [S1]
CUDA
Yes

Each graded figure above cites: [S1] Leadtek RTX A400.

Power. Leave headroom; OEM PSUs are often rated at the limit. The recommended system figure above is the card vendor's own, and it assumes a retail supply rather than an OEM one.

Desktops that take this card

This card has been assessed against 82 desktops in this database. Each verdict is a statement about published specifications, not about a tested combination.

  • ✓ Fits: 6
  • △ Fits with conditions: 59 (6 of these are estimates) Estimated
  • ✕ Does not fit: 17
  • ? Unverified: 0

Conditions shared by the desktops below. Each is stated once here. They come from this card's own records, or are worded the same for more than one desktop. A desktop listed below names the ones it carries by number; the figures particular to that desktop are on its own page.

  1. Card length: this card is 163 mm long. Card length: where a desktop publishes no maximum, measure the clearance in front of the slot and compare it with the card. (49 desktops)
  2. Card width: this card occupies 1 slot. (61 desktops)
  3. Card width: where a desktop's maker offers a card at least as thick as this one as a factory option, that settles this card's width. It is a floor rather than a published ceiling, and says nothing about a thicker card. (12 desktops)
  4. Card width: where a desktop publishes no slot-width ceiling, check that there is room beside the x16 slot. (49 desktops)
  5. Card width: where a row says a desktop's slot-width figure is recorded from third-party or community material, or from material whose source the record does not identify, rather than from a ceiling the manufacturer publishes, check that there is room beside the x16 slot. (6 desktops)
  6. Bracket height: this card is a low-profile card. Bracket height: where a desktop's manufacturer does not state whether it takes only half-height cards, check the slot opening. (7 desktops)
  7. Bracket height: where a row says whether a desktop takes only half-height cards is recorded from third-party or community material, or from material whose source the record does not identify, rather than from a statement by the manufacturer, check the slot opening. (6 desktops)
  8. A low-profile-only slot. The card is one slot wide, low profile and needs no auxiliary power (board power 50 W). The official manual states no maximum card length, so whether this 163 mm card fits the small-form-factor x16 slot cannot be confirmed from official material. (7 desktops)
  9. No auxiliary power connector required (board power 50 W), so it meets the requirement on every power-supply option. (4 desktops)
  10. The manufacturer offers this card as a factory configuration for this model, so the chassis, the bracket and the supply are established by that shipping fact — for this model alone. (2 desktops)

✓ Fits 6 desktops:

△ Fits with conditions 59 desktops, 6 of them published as an estimate:

✕ Does not fit 17 desktops, grouped by the published limit that conflicts with this card's published figures:

Verify with the manufacturer before purchasing.

What each verdict means. Every one of them is a statement about published specifications.
VerdictMeaning
✓ Fits Published specifications show no physical or electrical conflict.
△ Fits with conditions Published specifications allow it only under the stated conditions.
✕ Does not fit Published specifications rule the combination out: the card needs a connector the machine does not have, draws more than the supply provides, or is physically too large. It is a statement about specifications, not a report of a failed attempt.
? Unverified There is not enough evidence to say.

A dashed Estimated badge at the start of a line marks every verdict on that line as published as an estimate, and the grade beside it applies to each of them. The document behind each verdict, and the desktop's own figures, are listed on the desktop's own page. This card has a verdict for 82 of the 82 desktops in this database; the remaining 0 have not been assessed against it, which is not the same as them being ruled out.

Local language models this card's memory holds

Arithmetic shared by the models below. Sentences that read the same for more than one model are stated once here; each row names the ones it carries by number.

  1. This outcome is no stronger than the figures it was calculated from: the size of the model file that is distributed is recorded here from third-party or community material, so grade D is shown alongside B. (2 rows)
Calculated from the published file size and the model architecture.
ModelOutcome Needs at 32k contextThe arithmetic Confidence
Qwen3 4B Q4_K_M △ Fits at short context only 7.9 GiB 4 GB of memory covers the 3.9 GB required at a context length of 4,096 tokens, but not the 7.9 GB required at 32,768 tokens. B
Qwen3 1.7B Q4_K_M △ Fits at short context only Estimated 5.6 GiB 4 GB of memory covers the 2.5 GB required at a context length of 4,096 tokens, but not the 5.6 GB required at 32,768 tokens. [1] BD
Qwen3 0.6B Q4_K_M △ Fits at short context only Estimated 4.9 GiB 4 GB of memory covers the 1.9 GB required at a context length of 4,096 tokens, but not the 4.9 GB required at 32,768 tokens. [1] BD

✕ Exceeds VRAM 15 models need more memory at 32k context than this card has, 6 of them published as an estimate. The arithmetic for each is on the model's own page.

Exceeds VRAM does not mean the model will not run: inference software can keep part of a model in system memory. How fast that is, and whether it is pleasant to use, is outside what this site measures. The sizing rule and its constants are on the Methodology page.

Cards whose published memory size is the same, so the local-model outcomes on this page apply to them as well. Whether a given desktop accepts them is a separate question, answered on each card's own page.

Sources

Every document this page draws on, with the date it was read.
DocumentPublisherKindRead on
NVIDIA RTX A400 specifications (official) NVIDIA Manufacturer official documentation 2026-07-18
Leadtek RTX A400 Leadtek primary 2026-07-18

We have not physically tested this combination. Data is compiled from official specification sheets and cited sources. Verify with the manufacturer before purchasing.