VRAM TableGPU fit and local-LLM VRAM for OEM desktops, from published specifications Search by model

NVIDIA RTX A4500

NVIDIA (specification common to board partners) · 20 GB · catalogue identifier rtx-a4500-20gb · last updated 2026-09-25

82 desktops in this database carry a verdict for the NVIDIA RTX A4500: 16 fit with conditions, 52 do not fit (11 of these are estimates) and 14 are unverified. Estimated Conditions most often concern card width (16 desktops), power (16) and card length (12); for this card, its vendor publishes no recommended system power. Of the 52 desktops it does not fit, 31 conflict with a half-height-only slot and 28 with the desktop's maximum card length; the Dell OptiPlex 3090 Small Form Factor (2021) is one of the 31. Estimated Among the 4 cards with 20 GB in this database, its board power of 200 W is within 70–315 W, with 2 lower and 1 higher; its length of 266.7 mm compares with 168–276 mm where published. The largest listed model its 20 GB holds at 32k context is Gemma 3 27B (Q4_0 (QAT), needs 20.0 GiB).

Published specifications for this card, the OEM desktops whose own specifications accept it, and how much of a local language model its memory holds.

We have not physically tested this combination. Data is compiled from official specification sheets and cited sources.

Specifications

Graphics processor
NVIDIA RTX A4500
Board
NVIDIA RTX A4500 (NVIDIA (specification common to board partners))
Card memory
20 GB · A read 2026-08-20 [S1]
Total board power
200 W · A read 2026-08-20 [S2]
Vendor's recommended system power
Not stated by the cited specification
Auxiliary power connector
8pin · A read 2026-08-20 [S2]
Length
266.7 mm · A read 2026-08-20 [S1]
Height
111.8 mm
Width
Not stated by the cited specification
Slot widths occupied
2 · A read 2026-08-20 [S1]
Low profile
No · A read 2026-08-20 [S1]
CUDA
Yes

Each graded figure above cites: [S1] NVIDIA RTX A4500 specifications (official); [S2] NVIDIA RTX A4500 Datasheet.

Power. Leave headroom; OEM PSUs are often rated at the limit. The recommended system figure above is the card vendor's own, and it assumes a retail supply rather than an OEM one.

Desktops that take this card

This card has been assessed against 82 desktops in this database. Each verdict is a statement about published specifications, not about a tested combination.

  • ✓ Fits: 0
  • △ Fits with conditions: 16
  • ✕ Does not fit: 52 (11 of these are estimates) Estimated
  • ? Unverified: 14

Conditions shared by the desktops below. Each is stated once here. They come from this card's own records, or are worded the same for more than one desktop. A desktop listed below names the ones it carries by number; the figures particular to that desktop are on its own page.

  1. Card length: this card is 266.7 mm long. Card length: where a desktop publishes no maximum, measure the clearance in front of the slot and compare it with the card. (12 desktops)
  2. Card width: this card occupies 2 slots. (16 desktops)
  3. Card width: where a desktop publishes no slot-width ceiling, check that there is room beside the x16 slot. (8 desktops)
  4. Card width: where a desktop's maker offers a card at least as thick as this one as a factory option, that settles this card's width. It is a floor rather than a published ceiling, and says nothing about a thicker card. (8 desktops)
  5. Card width: where a row says a desktop's slot-width figure is recorded from third-party or community material, or from material whose source the record does not identify, rather than from a ceiling the manufacturer publishes, check that there is room beside the x16 slot. (2 desktops)
  6. Bracket height: where a row says whether a desktop takes only half-height cards is recorded from third-party or community material, or from material whose source the record does not identify, rather than from a statement by the manufacturer, check the slot opening. (2 desktops)
  7. Power: this card's vendor publishes no recommended system power, so it cannot be set against a desktop's supply ratings. Check the card's own specification sheet. (16 desktops)
  8. Auxiliary power connector: where a row says what a desktop's supply offers is recorded from third-party or community material, or from material whose source the record does not identify, rather than from a specification the manufacturer publishes, open the machine and look at the cable before buying. (3 desktops)
  9. Auxiliary power connector: this card needs an 8-pin connector. Auxiliary power connector: where a desktop's manufacturer does not publish what the supply offers, open the machine and look at the cable before buying. (7 desktops)

△ Fits with conditions 16 desktops:

✕ Does not fit 52 desktops, grouped by the published limit that conflicts with this card's published figures:

? Unverified 14 desktops. The evidence does not settle these either way, which is not the same as them being ruled out.

Verify with the manufacturer before purchasing.

What each verdict means. Every one of them is a statement about published specifications.
VerdictMeaning
✓ Fits Published specifications show no physical or electrical conflict.
△ Fits with conditions Published specifications allow it only under the stated conditions.
✕ Does not fit Published specifications rule the combination out: the card needs a connector the machine does not have, draws more than the supply provides, or is physically too large. It is a statement about specifications, not a report of a failed attempt.
? Unverified There is not enough evidence to say.

A dashed Estimated badge at the start of a line marks every verdict on that line as published as an estimate, and the grade beside it applies to each of them. The document behind each verdict, and the desktop's own figures, are listed on the desktop's own page. This card has a verdict for 82 of the 82 desktops in this database; the remaining 0 have not been assessed against it, which is not the same as them being ruled out.

Local language models this card's memory holds

Arithmetic shared by the models below. Sentences that read the same for more than one model are stated once here; each row names the ones it carries by number.

  1. This outcome is no stronger than the figures it was calculated from: the size of the model file that is distributed is recorded here from third-party or community material, so grade D is shown alongside B. (5 rows)
Calculated from the published file size and the model architecture.
ModelOutcome Needs at 32k contextThe arithmetic Confidence
Gemma 3 27B Q4_0 (QAT) ✓ Fits in VRAM 20.0 GiB 20 GB of memory is at least the 20.0 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. B
Mistral Small 3.2 24B Instruct Q4_K_M ✓ Fits in VRAM Estimated 19.4 GiB 20 GB of memory is at least the 19.4 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. [1] BD
Phi-4 14B Q4_K_M ✓ Fits in VRAM Estimated 15.6 GiB 20 GB of memory is at least the 15.6 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. [1] BD
GPT-OSS 20B MXFP4 (the vendor's own native quantisation) ✓ Fits in VRAM 14.6 GiB 20 GB of memory is at least the 14.6 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. B
Qwen3 14B Q4_K_M ✓ Fits in VRAM 14.4 GiB 20 GB of memory is at least the 14.4 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. B
Gemma 3 12B Q4_0 (QAT) ✓ Fits in VRAM 10.9 GiB 20 GB of memory is at least the 10.9 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. B
Qwen3 8B Q4_K_M ✓ Fits in VRAM 10.2 GiB 20 GB of memory is at least the 10.2 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. B
Llama 3.1 8B Q4_K_M ✓ Fits in VRAM Estimated 9.6 GiB 20 GB of memory is at least the 9.6 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. This outcome is no stronger than the figures it was calculated from: the size of the model file that is distributed and this model's layer count and this model's key/value head count and this model's head dimension are recorded here from third-party or community material, so grade D is shown alongside B. BD
Qwen3 4B Q4_K_M ✓ Fits in VRAM 7.9 GiB 20 GB of memory is at least the 7.9 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. B
Qwen3 1.7B Q4_K_M ✓ Fits in VRAM Estimated 5.6 GiB 20 GB of memory is at least the 5.6 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. [1] BD
Qwen3 0.6B Q4_K_M ✓ Fits in VRAM Estimated 4.9 GiB 20 GB of memory is at least the 4.9 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. [1] BD
Gemma 3 4B Q4_0 (QAT) ✓ Fits in VRAM 4.7 GiB 20 GB of memory is at least the 4.7 GB required at a context length of 32,768 tokens. B
Qwen3 30B-A3B Instruct 2507 Q4_K_M △ Fits at short context only Estimated 21.3 GiB 20 GB of memory covers the 18.7 GB required at a context length of 4,096 tokens, but not the 21.3 GB required at 32,768 tokens. [1] BD

✕ Exceeds VRAM 5 models need more memory at 32k context than this card has, 2 of them published as an estimate. The arithmetic for each is on the model's own page.

Exceeds VRAM does not mean the model will not run: inference software can keep part of a model in system memory. How fast that is, and whether it is pleasant to use, is outside what this site measures. The sizing rule and its constants are on the Methodology page.

Cards whose published memory size is the same, so the local-model outcomes on this page apply to them as well. Whether a given desktop accepts them is a separate question, answered on each card's own page.

Sources

Every document this page draws on, with the date it was read.
DocumentPublisherKindRead on
NVIDIA RTX A4500 specifications (official) NVIDIA Manufacturer official documentation 2026-08-20
NVIDIA RTX A4500 Datasheet NVIDIA primary 2026-08-20

We have not physically tested this combination. Data is compiled from official specification sheets and cited sources. Verify with the manufacturer before purchasing.