Power supply ratings and PCIe power connectors by desktop model
The two facts that decide most of these verdicts are the rating of the supply and whether it has an auxiliary power cable for a graphics card. Both are collected here, straight from the manufacturers' documentation.
We have not physically tested this combination. Data is compiled from official specification sheets and cited sources. Verify with the manufacturer before purchasing.
| Desktop | Power supply ratings | Standard ATX part | Auxiliary power for a graphics card | Maximum card length |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dell OptiPlex 3050 Small Form Factor (2017) | 180 W | No — proprietary | Could not be obtained: the official manual says nothing about an auxiliary power connector. The size of the chassis and the 180 W supply suggest there is none, but that is not asserted here. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 3050 Tower (2017) | 240 W | No — proprietary | No power-supply configuration has an auxiliary power connector; the official manual states none and it could not be confirmed in Dell's official community forum either. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 3060 Small Form Factor (2018) | 200 W | No — proprietary | Could not be obtained: the official manual says nothing about an auxiliary power connector. The size of the chassis and the 200 W supply suggest there is none, but that is not asserted here. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 3060 Tower (2018) | 260 W | No — proprietary | No power-supply configuration has an auxiliary power connector, and the official manual states none. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 3080 Tower (2020) | 260 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 3090 Small Form Factor (2021) | 200 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 3090 Tower (2021) | 260 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 5040 Mini Tower (2015) | 240 W | No — proprietary | Not required. The internal connector table in the official Owner's Manual lists an 8-pin supply connector, a 4-pin processor connector, a 6-pin connector and SATA connectors, but none of them is described as being for a graphics card. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 5040 Small Form Factor (2015) | 180 W | No — proprietary | Not required. The power connector row of the internal connector table in the official Owner's Manual lists only an 8-pin supply connector, a 4-pin processor connector, a 6-pin connector and SATA connectors; none of them is described as being for a graphics card. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 5050 Small Form Factor (2017) | 180 W | No — proprietary | Could not be obtained: the official manual says nothing about an auxiliary power connector. The size of the chassis and the 180 W supply suggest there is none, but that is not asserted here. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 5050 Tower (2017) | 240 W | No — proprietary | No power-supply configuration has an auxiliary power connector, as confirmed in Dell's official community forum. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 5060 Small Form Factor (2018) | 200 W | No — proprietary | Could not be obtained: the official manual says nothing about an auxiliary power connector. The size of the chassis and the 200 W supply suggest there is none, but that is not asserted here. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 5060 Tower (2018) | 260 W | No — proprietary | No power-supply configuration has an auxiliary power connector, and the official manual states none. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 5070 Small Form Factor (2019) | 200 W | No — proprietary | Could not be obtained. The power specification page of the official manual could not be retrieved, and the community forum does not mention an auxiliary graphics power connector either. A chassis this small most likely has none, but the record does not state that as a fact. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 5070 Tower (2019) | 260 W | No — proprietary | The standard 260 W configuration has no auxiliary power connector, as confirmed in Dell's official community forum. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 5080 Small Form Factor (2020) | 200 / 360 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 5080 Tower (2020) | 260 / 360 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 5090 Tower (2021) | 260 / 300 / 360 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 7000 Small Form Factor (2022) | 240 / 260 / 300 W | No — proprietary | Could not be obtained. The power connector page of the official manual lists only two 4-pin processor connectors and one 8-pin system-board connector. There is no auxiliary power connector for a graphics or PCIe card. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 7000 Tower (2022) | 240 / 260 / 400 / 500 W | No — proprietary | 240 W and 260 W: none. 400 W: one 2+6-pin connector. 500 W: one 6-pin plus one 2+6-pin connector. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 7040 Mini Tower (2015) | 240 W | No — proprietary | No power-supply configuration has an auxiliary power connector; the official manual states none and it could not be confirmed in Dell's official community forum either. Supporting evidence: in the official Owner's Manual, table 11 "internal connectors", the power connector row lists only an 8-pin for the power supply, a 4-pin for the processor and an 8-pin for SATA power, with nothing for a graphics card, and the machine has a single 240 W supply. Absence from a list is not treated here as proof that the connector does not exist, but it is consistent with the rest of the evidence. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 7040 Small Form Factor (2015) | 180 W | No — proprietary | Could not be obtained: the official manual says nothing about an auxiliary power connector. The size of the chassis and the 180 W supply suggest there is none, but that is not asserted here. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 7050 Small Form Factor (2017) | 180 W | No — proprietary | Could not be obtained: the official manual says nothing about an auxiliary power connector. The size of the chassis and the 180 W supply suggest there is none, but that is not asserted here. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 7050 Tower (2017) | 240 W | No — proprietary | The standard 240 W configuration has no auxiliary power connector, and the official manual states none. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 7060 Small Form Factor (2018) | 200 W | No — proprietary | Could not be obtained: the official manual says nothing about an auxiliary power connector. The size of the chassis and the 200 W supply suggest there is none, but that is not asserted here. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 7060 Tower (2018) | 260 / 360 W | No — proprietary | Only the 360 W configuration has a single 6-pin connector (Dell OEM units L360EGM-00 and H360EGM-00, confirmed in Dell's official community forum and in a compiled list of Dell 360 W units). The 260 W configuration has no auxiliary power connector. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 7070 Small Form Factor (2019) | 200 W | No — proprietary | Could not be obtained: the official manual says nothing about an auxiliary power connector. The size of the chassis and the 200 W supply suggest there is none, but that is not asserted here. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 7070 Tower (2019) | 260 / 360 W | No — proprietary | Only the 360 W configuration has a single 6-pin connector (Dell OEM H360EGM-00, confirmed in Dell's official community forum thread on power supplies compatible with the 7070 MT). The 260 W configuration has no auxiliary power connector. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 7080 Small Form Factor (2020) | 200 W | No — proprietary | Could not be obtained. The power rating page of the official manual lists only the processor and system-board connectors. There is no auxiliary power connector for a graphics or PCIe card. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 7080 Tower (2020) | 260 / 360 / 500 W | No — proprietary | 360 W: one 8-pin connector for the graphics card. 500 W: one 6-pin plus one 6+2-pin. 260 W: no auxiliary power connector. Confirmed against the official specification for the same-generation 7090, as the document for this model returns an access error. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 7090 Small Form Factor (2021) | 200 / 300 W | No — proprietary | Could not be obtained. The power and power-cable specification pages of the official manual list only two 4-pin processor connectors and one 6-pin system-board connector. There is no auxiliary power connector for a graphics or PCIe card. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex 7090 Tower (2021) | 260 / 300 / 360 / 500 W | No — proprietary | 260 W and 300 W: none. 360 W: one 8-pin connector. 500 W: one 6-pin and one 6+2-pin connector. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex Small Form Factor 7010 (2023) | 180 / 300 W | No — proprietary | Could not be obtained. The power connector page of the official manual lists only two 4-pin processor connectors and one 8-pin system-board connector. There is no auxiliary power connector for a graphics or PCIe card. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex Small Form Factor Plus 7010 (2023) | 260 / 300 W | No — proprietary | Could not be obtained. The power connector page of the official manual lists only two 4-pin processor connectors and a system-board connector, 8-pin on the 260 W unit and 6-pin on the 300 W. There is no auxiliary power connector for a graphics or PCIe card. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex Tower 7010 (2023) | 180 / 300 W | No — proprietary | No power-supply option provides graphics-card auxiliary power. | Not stated |
| Dell OptiPlex Tower Plus 7010 (2023) | 260 / 500 W | No — proprietary | 260 W: none. 500 W: one 6-pin plus one 2+6-pin connector. | Not stated |
| Dell Precision 3630 Tower | 300 / 460 / 850 W | No — proprietary | A standard PCIe 6-pin and/or 8-pin power connector, in dongle form. The note to the Video card specifications table in the Owner's Manual reads “Graphics cards with power rating equals to or more than 75 Watts requires a 6-pin and/or 8-pin power connector dongle”, which reads as meaning that a card below 75 W needs no auxiliary power. | Not stated |
| Dell Precision 3660 Tower | 300 / 500 / 750 / 1000 W | No — proprietary | Standard PCIe 6-pin and 6+2-pin (equivalent to 8-pin); not a proprietary connector. 300 W: no connector. 500 W: one 6-pin plus one 6+2-pin. 750 W and 1000 W: two 6-pin plus two 6+2-pin. | Not stated |
| Dell Precision 3680 Tower | 300 / 500 / 1000 W | No — proprietary | Standard PCIe 6-pin and 8-pin (6+2); no proprietary connector. | Not stated |
| Dell Precision 5820 Tower | 425 / 950 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | Not stated |
| HP Elite Tower 600 G9 | 260 / 400 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | Not stated |
| HP Elite Tower 800 G9 | 550 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 215 mm |
| HP Pro Tower 400 G9 | 180 / 260 / 400 W | No — proprietary | PCIe 2x4 (only when an RTX 3050 is fitted; requires the 400 W power supply) | Not stated |
| HP Z2 G9 SFF Workstation Desktop PC | 260 / 450 / 550 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | Not stated |
| HP Z2 Small Form Factor G5 Workstation | 260 / 450 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | Not stated |
| HP Z2 Small Form Factor G8 Workstation | 260 / 450 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | Not stated |
| HP Z2 Tower G5 Workstation | 350 / 500 / 700 W | No — proprietary | Two 6+2-pin cables, on the 700 W and 500 W configurations. | Not stated |
| HP Z2 Tower G8 Workstation | 350 / 500 / 700 W | No — proprietary | Configurations of 500 W and above provide up to an 8-pin connector. The entry for the RTX A4500 states “One 8-pin auxiliary power connector”, and the RTX A4000 “One 6-pin”. | Not stated |
| HP Z2 Tower G9 Workstation | 700 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | Not stated |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s | 180 / 260 / 310 / 380 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 155 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 3 | 180 / 260 / 310 / 380 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 155 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 4 | 180 / 260 / 310 / 380 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 155 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 5 | 180 / 258 / 260 / 310 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 155 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M70t | 180 / 260 / 310 / 380 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 215 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M70t Gen 4 | 180 / 260 / 310 / 380 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 209 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M70t Gen 5 | 180 / 258 / 260 / 310 / 380 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 222 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M710 Small Form Factor | 180 / 210 W | No — proprietary | Not required. The small-form-factor supplies, rated up to 210 W, carry no auxiliary power connector. Read from the chassis and power specification, which match the M910 SFF. | 150 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M710 Tower | 180 / 210 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 189 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M710e SFF | 180 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 152 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M720 SFF | 180 / 210 / 260 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 147 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M720 Tower | 180 / 210 / 260 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 189 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M75s | 180 / 210 / 260 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 150 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M75s Gen 5 | 180 / 258 / 260 / 310 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 155 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M75t Gen 5 | 180 / 258 / 260 / 310 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 222 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M80s | 180 / 260 / 310 / 380 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 155 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M80s Gen 3 | 180 / 260 / 310 / 380 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 155 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M80t | 180 / 260 / 310 / 380 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 215 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M80t Gen 3 | 180 / 260 / 310 / 380 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 209 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M90s | 180 / 260 / 310 / 380 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 155 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M90s Gen 3 | 260 / 310 / 380 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 155 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M90s Gen 4 | 260 / 310 / 380 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 155 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M90s Gen 5 | 258 / 260 / 310 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 155 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M90t | 180 / 300 / 500 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 245 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M90t Gen 3 | 300 / 500 / 750 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 268 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M90t Gen 4 | 260 / 300 / 500 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 268 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M90t Gen 5 | 260 / 300 / 500 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 268 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M910 Small Form Factor | 180 / 210 W | No — proprietary | Not required. The small-form-factor supplies, rated up to 210 W, carry no auxiliary power connector. Read from the PSREF and from the power specification of the small-form-factor chassis. | 150 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M910 Tower | 180 / 250 / 400 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 268 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M920 Small Form Factor | 180 / 210 / 260 W | No — proprietary | Not required. The small-form-factor supplies, rated up to 260 W, carry no auxiliary power connector. Read from the chassis and power specification, which match the M910 SFF. | 150 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M920 Tower | 180 / 250 / 400 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 268 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50s Gen 4 | 180 / 260 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | 167 mm |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50t Gen 4 | 180 / 260 / 310 / 380 W | No — proprietary | The manufacturer does not say. That is not the same as “there is none”. | Not stated |
Power. Leave headroom; OEM PSUs are often rated at the limit.
Every row here is a summary of figures published on the individual pages, where each one carries its source, the date it was read and a confidence grade. Follow the links before acting on a row.